Board Members

Lootie Toomasie

Position: Vice Chairperson
Appointment Date: April, 2013
Community: Qikiqtarjuaq Appointment Agency: Government of Nunavut

Lootie Toomasie was appointed to the NWB in October, 1999 as a NTI nominee. Lootie is presently the Vice-Chairperson of the Board. Lootie was also past Acting-Chair of the NWB.

Presently, aside from his membership on the Nunavut Water Board, Lootie works with the Baffin Fishery Alliance among other public service activities. Lootie is past mayor of Qikiqtarjuaq.

Lootie has traveled extensively on business mainly for the Fisheries Coalition for the Baffin Region.

Ross Mrazek

Position: Board Member
Appointment Date: August, 2011
Community: Edmonton Appointment Agency: AANDC

Ross Mrazek was appointed to the NWB in August, 2008. Prior to this, Ross had joined the GNWT in 1985, where he worked for the Department of Public Works in several positions, from project manager, regional Supt. and then as Deputy Minister while working for Government of Nunavut through until 2003.

Ross has considerable knowledge of northern issues, public affairs, culture and environment combined with extensive engineering and technical experience related to northern environments. Ross had previously served on the Board of Quiliq Energy as Director.

David Aglukark Sr.

Position: Board Member
Appointment Date: September, 2013
Community: Arviat Appointment Agency: AANDC on the recommendation of NTI - Kivalliq Inuit Association

David was appointed to the NWB in September, 2010 as a NTI nominee. David was also a previous Board member on the Nunavut Impact Review Board.

David has traveled the world on business with the church as the pastor of the Glad Tidings Church in Arviat.

David is an avid hunter, and a strong advocate for cultural and traditional knowledge.